The electric scooters have made it to Connecticut! Electric scooters have been trying to come into the state since 2017. As of 2019, electric scooters have been legal in Connecticut. An E-scooter differs from a regular scooter because it uses an electric motor that does not exceed 20 mph. E-scooters can be found mainly in cities such as Hartford, Bridgeport, New Haven, and Fairfield.
Hartford was one of the state’s first adopters of the electric scooter when they contracted initially with the company, Lime. However, that contract ended and now Hartford has connected with a company called Superpedestrian that hosts Link scooters. Unlike other scooter share systems, Link scooters have a unique safety system embedded on the board that confirms they are safe to use before riders use them. Essentially, the scooter self-monitors for maintenance issues. The motor’s speed does not exceed 15 mph. Let’s face it, we can’t avoid them. Here is what you need to know before getting on one and/or sharing the road with one.
Scooter share allows a user to rent an electric foot scooter as a way to get around the city. Riders can download the iOS app to locate the nearest scooter. Once the scooter is located, the rider can ride it to their destination. After arriving at the destination, the rider simply leaves the scooter (responsibly) at the location for the next user to locate and ride.
It depends which roads you are riding your electric scooter on. If you are riding on a street that has a speed limit under 35 mph, you are allowed to ride on the right side of the road.
Connecticut’s electric foot scooter laws prohibit riders from riding on the sidewalk. Electric scooters are also not to be ridden on highways, expressways, and streets that have a speed limit over 35 mph. Most scooter share apps will inform you of the zones to ride in and the zones to stay away from. For example, the Link company will shut down the scooter if a rider ventures into a ‘no zone.’
Connecticut’s electric scooter laws state that you must have a driver’s license in order to ride an electric scooter. The scooter share apps require proof of a valid driver’s license before use. However, you do not need a particular ‘scooter’ license (M endorsement) to ride an electric scooter, as long as it does not exceed 20 mph.
Specific scooter insurance is not required, however many insurance carriers do provide broader coverage that may include electric scooters and other recreational vehicles (in an umbrella or excess policy) in case of an accident.